EU sanctions on 9 Iranian entities, including defence minister

EU diplomats announced that nine Iranian entities, including Iranian Defence Minister Mohammad-Reza Ashtiani, have agreed to be placed on a sanctions list for supplying Russia with drones used by Moscow in its war against Ukraine.

The agreement, called COREPER, was signed in Brussels between the ambassadors of EU governments and will be made public after it is approved by EU foreign ministers meeting today.

The statement read as follows: “COREPER has agreed on a list of 9 Iranian Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs). Some technical details are still being worked out, but (EU Foreign Policy Chief Josep) Borrell will announce the political agreement at the Foreign Affairs Council on Monday.”

A second diplomat confirmed that Iranian Defence Minister Mohammad-Reza Ashtiani is on the agreed sanctions list. The sanctions include a travel ban for individuals, an asset freeze for individuals and entities, and a ban on providing funds or economic resources to those on the list.

US sanctions on Chinese and Belarusian firms supplying missile technology to Pakistan